Staff Profile/Science Department

sophia

Sophia Fung

Being a teacher is like a gardener, some students need more water, some need more sunlight, others need more soil… Everyone is unique in their own ways, and they all hold great potential given the right resources. I still remember in my first year of teaching, there was a student who was very shy and refused to try anything. She was very smart, but she did not want to step out of her comfort zone because she was scared to fail. Throughout the year, she became more confident and even started to challenge herself. She told me she believed in herself because I believed in her. I was very touched. That was the moment I was proud to be a teacher.

I was educated in Hong Kong and Australia. After graduating from Australian National University, I came back to Hong Kong to work in the educational psychology field in the university. The work experience allowed me to look further and wider in the word "education". It opened my eyes to latest learning principles proposed in research and psycho-development of student needs. After that, I tried to bring the theories into practice, and make learning more effective and meaningful for the students.

As a science teacher, I believe learning should be fun and interactive. My classes consist of many hands-on learning and group activities, so that students can learn about science knowledge on one hand, and how to cooperate and communicate with each other on the other hand. I want my students to be creative and explore the world in a safe learning environment. I want them to challenge themselves, inspire each other, with me being the facilitator of their learning experience.

Education is not a one-day job, but I believe the seeds we sow in the students will grow someday!

教職員/科學部

sophia

馮雯鈺

老師就像一個園丁。有些孩子需要多點水,有些需要更多陽光,有些需要泥土……每個學生都是獨一無二的,並在適當的環境中都能茁壯成長 。我還記得在我剛開始教書的時候,有個學生非常害羞。她很聰明,但很被動,很多事情都不願意嘗試,因為她害怕會失敗。一年後,我看到她慢慢地成長,變得越來越主動、自信,甚至敢挑戰自己。她對我說:「我相信自己有能力,因為老師你相信我。」那一刻我很感動,也因身為老師感到很自豪。

 

我從小在香港和澳洲接受教育。在澳洲國立大學的科學系畢業後,我回到香港,在大學從事教育心理學方面的工作。這段工作經歷令我對教育有了更深的體會,也開闊了我的視野,令我認識到不同的學習理論和孩子身心成長的需求。之後,我嘗試把理論付諸實踐、帶進課室,幫助學生更有效地學習。

 

作為一位科學老師,我認為學習應該是有趣和互動的。我提倡動手學習和小組活動,令學生能一方面學習科學的知識,一方面學習如何和別人合作與溝通。我希望發掘孩子的創造力,並容許他們在安全的學習環境裡探索這個世界。我期望充當學生學習的促進者,讓他們能挑戰自己、啟發對方。

 

教育不是一天的工作,但我深信,我們在學生身上播下的種子會慢慢成長!