Staff Profile/Humanities Department

hujingfei

Dr. Hu Jingfei

I was born in a teachers' family in Hangzhou. My father, who never wastes a single hour on business other than his research, was the best role model during my childhood, when I inherited a habit of reading from him. After primary school graduation, I was admitted by Hangzhou Foreign Language School, one of the best secondary schools in my home town. Thanks to my devoted and inspiring teachers and classmates, I was able to build a solid foundation in both Chinese and English. Since then, the respect and passion for Chinese and Western classics have become an important and persistent component of my life.

 

Majoring in Economics during the undergraduate studies at Zhejiang University, I was fascinated by insightful theoretic models and their applications in the real life. Highly motivated by my research interest, I carried out several studies and some of them led to publications in top-ranked academic journals in my junior and senior years.  After the graduation with distinction, I was accepted by the Mphil. programme in education at the University of Hong Kong with the full scholarship and upgraded to the Ph.D programme one year after.  During my postgraduate studies, I conducted many field studies and interviewed a large number of school principals as well as educational policy makers. All these experiences have not only helped me build a solid academic foundation, but have also enabled me to apply the conceptual ideas into practice.

After obtaining my Ph.D. degree in education, I started my teaching in a private girls’ school in Toronto, where I spent the following eight years. I was able to incorporate my aspiration, my academic training, and my passion into the teaching activities. Teaching in a multi-cultural setting within a Canadian school was a challenging yet enjoyable experience for me who had never studied and taught outside Asia before. During these years, I had also been relentlessly teaching the Chinese and Western classics to the CBC (Canada born Chinese) children, delivering my most cherished and respected spiritual treasures to the next generation. In my teaching practice, I developed a student-centred pedagogy with an emphasis that teacher’s guidance and support should serve to stimulate and develop students’ own interest. In addition, I have always been self-evaluating my teaching : Which new ideas can I adopt to improve my teaching? How can I engage my students better? How can the essence of human civilisation be passed on to the next generation through my hands and take roots in their hearts?

 

During these years of learning and teaching, I have been passionate to share my love of reading with others. I have compiled a number of reading lists on different subjects for different age groups and distributed them to students and parents, in order to boost the children’s habit of reading. I hope the habit would help them lay a strong foundation for their future academic training in each subject; and I also hope that the reading itself unfolds the way to make a youngster a knowledgeable, compassionate, intelligent, and responsible citizen who will shoulder her social responsibility and make the world a better place.

 

It is my privilege to join Han Academy with such a excellent group of colleagues. Serving as the head librarian at “the place closest to the paradise” will continue my mission and share my enthusiasm with students. My short-term mission is to teach students how to search and use information, to read through different approaches, and to develop independent research abilities based on collected information and materials. My long-term goal is to ignite more passions with my own passion and to impact more souls with my own soul. All this will hopefully take place in the library, our spiritual hub and harbour of Han Academy.

教职员/人文部

hujingfei

胡竞菲博士

我生于杭州一个教师家庭,父亲不懈的芸窗夜读是幼年时代最深刻的印象。在父母指引下,童年时代的我便养成读书不倦的习惯。小学毕业时,我有幸考入杭州外国语学校,遇到诸多良师益友,不但打下了扎实的英文基础,亦从此开放眼界,怀抱中西——情牵唐诗宋词,心念莎剧英诗,对华夏与泰西传承中一切的高贵美好存有敬意与热爱。

 

高考后,我入读浙江大学经济学系,获优秀毕业生称号毕业。本科毕业之后我获得全额奖学金直接进入香港大学教育学院攻读博士学位。在研究过程中,我多次前往各地中小学及各层政府教育机构访谈调研,对基层学校有了深入的了解,夯实了对教育理论的掌握与对教育实务的认知。

 

获得博士学位后,我于加拿大多伦多一所私立女校教授中文,将我的教育理想、学术训练与教育热情投入其中。在教学中,我既经受了多元文化教育环境中的各种挑战,又享受到了教与学的快乐。于此同时,我也坚持向多伦多华裔孩童传授中华经典,将我的所爱所敬传递给下一代。在教学中,我给予学生充分的信任和挑战,逐渐形成了以学生为中心、教师提供指导与援助的教学方式。同时,我也不断总结反思:我能提供什么样更好的教学创意给学生?怎样让他们学到更多,学得更快乐?怎样让人类文明在我的教学过程中传播不止,薪火不息?

 

而多年来另一件让我乐此不疲的事,则是在我的个人阅读之馀,向所有的孩子和父母推荐各种优秀书籍。我坚持编写各种主题的书单推荐给学生和家长,推动学生大量且高质量地阅读——使他们不但能借助阅读之力在各学科的学习中深入掌握概念与体系,也能够经由阅读之路奠厚生命的深广宏博,完成现代公民的使命。

 

今天,我加入汉鼎高素质的教师团队,既能够继续教师生涯,又能在“离天堂最近的地方”与学生同事共用阅读的快乐,何其幸运。我盼望教给学生们搜索及利用资讯的能力,培养多手段阅读、独立研究与积极反思的能力,更期待以热情点燃热情,以生命影响生命,让我们的图书馆成为汉鼎精神生活的枢纽与港湾。