Staff Profile/Science Department

michaelqian

Professor Michael Qian

My hometown is a peaceful village located in the city Anqing in Anhui province, China. It is well-known as the hometown of HuangMei Opera, one of the famous operas in China. My childhood was full of happiness. Memories about the beautiful countryside scenes in different seasons and the varied plants and animals in outdoors can often come across to my mind like a falling star flying in the dark sky. When I was a boy, I was quiet and a little bit shy, and was fond of reading and thinking. In the secondary school, I had enormous interests in subjects related to Science such as Physics, Chemistry, etc., and aspired to be a scientist. In the university entrance exam, I got almost full marks for Physics, and majored at Physics in the university. I clearly remembered that in the summer of 1999, when I took my way to the big city where my university locates, I felt somehow parting grief but mostly great longing for the future in front of me.

 

In 2008, I got my Ph.D. degree in Science, and became a scientist and assistant professor in the Chinese Academy of Sciences. The hours spent in the lab and writing papers was happy. I was successfully promoted to be full professor, Ph.D. advisor, and took the role of principal investigator of a research team of more than ten members. I published dozens of scientific papers in international journals, owned more than ten patents. As a professor, I teach lesson to my students, and also supervise them to conduct scientific research. My daughter was born in 2012 and I had a new role as father. in 2013, I was invited to work in University of Southern California as a Project Scientist, and had a chance in a top lab belongs to the National Institute of Health. After that, I made the final decision to get together with my family in Hong Kong. I believe that Han Academy will be a brand new start for my career.

 

At Han Academy, we carefully design the STEM curriculum, in which the inter-disciplinary educational concept, the real-world situation education pattern, and the innovative spirit of the "Makers" are integrated organically. By creating an inquiry learning environment, we enable the students to have a deep understanding of the scientific concepts and keep their learning interest and curiosity. By establishing project-based teaching, we allow students to work in team to learn and apply multidisciplinary knowledge to solve realistic problems. By constructing maker spaces, we encourage and guide students to perform innovative research. In our STEM curriculum, we not only impart knowledge, but also focus on the training of the scientific, technological, engineering, and mathematical literacy of students.

教职员/科学部

michaelqian

钱明教授

我的故乡在安徽省安庆市一个宁静的小村庄,这里以黄梅戏的故乡而着称。

 

我的童年是无比幸福的,对宁静乡村的四季美景和大自然琳瑯满目的花鸟虫鱼的珍贵记忆仍不时像夜空中的流星一样划过脑海。儿时的我是一个安静而腼腆的男孩,喜欢思考和阅读。整个中学阶段,我都对物理等科目有浓厚的兴趣,立志成为一名科学家。高考,我的物理科目接近满分,大学读的专业就是物理。1999年夏天,那个背着行囊去大城市读书的十七岁少年,心中有些许离开故土的忧伤,更多的还是对外面世界的无限憧憬。

 

2008年,我获得了博士学位,如愿来到中国科学院成为了一名科学家,担任助理教授。埋头实验室和写论文的时光,是充实和快乐的。在中科院,我晋升为正教授和博士生导师,领导十余人的科研团队,主导完成了多个科研项目。我在国际期刊上发表了数十篇科研论文,也申请了数十项发明专利。我给学生授课,手把手指导学生做科研。科学家和老师的双重身份让我获得很大的满足感。2013年我受邀到美国南加州大学国立卫生研究院的顶尖实验室任职项目科学家。最终,对家庭的巨大向心力让我决定回到香港。我相信,任职汉鼎书院将是我教育生涯的全新开始。

 

在汉鼎,我们精心设计STEM课程体系,将STEM的跨学科教育理念、情境式教育模式和创客的“创新”精神进行有机的融合。创造探究式学习氛围,让学生深入理解科学概念并保持学习兴趣和好奇心。开展基于项目的教学,让学生以团队协作的方式自主学习和运用多学科知识去解决现实问题。构建创客空间,鼓励并辅导学生创新研究。汉鼎的STEM课程不仅教授学生以知识,更注重培养学生在科学、技术、工程和数学方面的素养。