Staff Profile/Chinese Department

jeffchen

Jeff Chen

I am Chen Zhe, born in Guizhou and raised in Shenzhen. After secondary school, I attained my bachelor degree of Chinese journalism in Hong Kong Baptist University, and my master degree of Chinese Study (Language Education) in Education University of Hong Kong. Successively, I taught debate in King George V School, Yew Chung International School and West Island School. I worked as a Chinese teacher in Po Leung Kuk Choi Kai Yau School and will teach debate as well as Chinese in Han Academy.

 

I am not fond of many things. Language arts, literature and poetry are one of them.

 

Since primary school, I was lucky enough to be appreciated by a teacher who offered me opportunities of training and competitions in the aspect of opera, speech and show hosting. That teacher, whom I show tons of gratitude to, became the director of the opening ceremony of 2008 Olympic Game later on. In secondary school, I accidentally started learning debate. In college, as the captain of our college debate team, I have won Hong Kong Champion once, National Champion once and was runner-up three times in Hong Kong. Besides, I was also the best debater of year 2015 in Hong Kong. After that, I became the coach of Hong Kong Baptist University Mandarin Debate Team. I also coached the Chinese debate team in Yew Chung International School for nearly two years. During the time, my team won every match they attended. As a reward, they were the champion in Hong Kong for two consecutive years and the team members were the best debaters almost in every single match.

 

As for literature and poetry, I am a literature lover and might be a poet as well. One of my friends used to ask me what in this world brings me most pleasure. Without a doubt, literature is my answer. From ancient to modern, east to west, so many remarkable writers have accompanied my dawn and dusk, filling my days with laughter and tears. Also, I put my view and emotion into words and poems. I wrote poems for my family, friends, students as well as a leaf and a flower. I enjoy this a lot.

 

Hence, what a beautiful thing it is to be a teacher and share the things I love with my students. I wish I could make my life count with the skills I grasped.

教职员/中文部

jeffchen

陈哲

我叫陈哲,生于贵州,长于深圳。高中毕业后,于香港浸会大学修读中文新闻之学士学位,香港教育大学修读中文研究(语文教育)之硕士学位。我曾先后于香港英皇佐治五世学校、耀中国际学校、西岛中学教授辩论,后于保良局蔡继有学校任职中文老师,将于汉鼎书院教授辩论与中文课程。

 

于我而言,平生所乐事不繁,语言艺术其一,文学诗歌其一。

 

我与语言艺术——小学起,幸而得到一位老师赏识,我参加了大量话剧、演讲、主持类训练与比赛,那位恩师,后来成为了2008年北京奥运会开幕式导演。高中起,又在机缘巧合之下走上了辩论之路,大学以来,以队长身份带领大学辩论队获得1次香港冠军、1次全国冠军、3次香港亚军,成为2015年香港年度最佳辩手,后担任大学辩论队教练。此外,我亦曾执教耀中国际学校中文辩论队,执教近两年间,我的队伍赢得了所有的比赛,两次获得香港冠军,队员几乎成为每一场比赛的最佳辩手。

 

我与文学诗歌——我爱文学,我也写诗。朋友曾问我,带给我最大快乐的事物是什么,我毫不犹豫地回答了文学。从柳永、苏轼、李清照、李煜,到木心、王小波、三岛由纪夫、毛姆,一串串熠熠生辉的名字带给我无数充盈着悲喜的夜晚与清晨。我将我的情感与认知交由文字,付之于诗,为家人写、为朋友写、为学生写、为一草一木写,其乐无穷。

 

正因此,能成为一名老师,教授所爱、所乐之事物,何其美哉。愿以吾之技,不负吾生。