School Board and Consultants

enochyoung

Professor Enoch Young, BBS

Vice Chairman

Professor Young obtained a BSc. from the University of Hong Kong and a PhD. from Bristol University, UK He then held post-doctoral research appointments at CERN (Geneva) and Durham University (UK). He returned to Hong Kong in 1968 to take up a lectureship in physics at the University of Hong Kong. Subsequently, he was at various times Associate Dean of Science at the University of Hong Kong and Professor and Dean of Science and Engineering, Director of Graduate School, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, and Acting President and Vice-Chancellor at City University of Hong Kong. He served as Director of HKU SPACE during 1997-2008 and led HKU SPACE to become a leader in continuing education and lifelong learning in Hong Kong and the region.

 

Professor Young served on many Government and non-Government Committees and Councils, including the University Grants Committee, the Vocational Training Council, and the Councils of City University of Hong Kong, Open University of Hong Kong, University of Hong Kong and the Council of the Physical Society in China. He was Chairman of the Federation of Continuing Education in Tertiary Institutions (2002-2007). He also served as Vice-President of China Higher Education Association Continuing Education Branch and Chief Editor of International Journal of Continuing Education and Lifelong Learning.

 

Professor Young has been awarded many honours, including four honorary professorships, four honorary doctorates from universities in Hong Kong, Mainland China, UK and the US, and seven honorary fellowships from universities and professional organizations. He received the "World Outstanding Chinese Award" in 2006 and the Bronze Bauhinia Star (BBS) in 2007. In 2009, he received the Honorary University Fellowship and the Distinguished Alumni Award of Faculty of Science by the University of Hong Kong. He was awarded the Hon. Knight of St. John in 2012, and the Honorary Fellowship of HKU SPACE in 2015.

 

Professor Young has published and presented about 300 thesis papers and articles in the areas of astrophysics, higher education and lifelong learning.

校董及顾问

enochyoung

杨健明教授,BBS

副主席

杨教授获香港大学授予理学士学位和英国布里斯托大学 (Bristol University) 授予博士学位,出任欧洲核子研究中心(CERN)和英国特勒姆大学(Durham University)的研究员。1968年回港任香港大学物理学讲师,继而先后担任香港大学理学院副院长,香港城市大学教授及科学与工程学院院长、研究院院长、副校长及署理校长等职位。1997年至2008年期间担任 HKU SPACE院长,带领学院成为在香港和地区在持续教育和终身学习领域的领导者。

 

杨教授的公职,包括大学教育资助委员会、职业训练局委员,和香港城市大学、香港公开大学、香港大学和中国物理学会的理事会理事,及大专院校持续教育联盟(2002- 2007年)主席,亦曾任中国高等教育继续教育分会副理事长及《国际持续教育及终身学习期刊》主编。

 

杨教授获得许多荣誉和名衔,包括香港、中国内地、英国和美国的大学授予的四个荣誉教授和四个名誉博士学位,及七个大学和国际专业学会授予的院士衔。他在2006年获得“世界杰出华人”奖,2007年获香港政府授予铜紫荆星章(BBS)。2009年,他获香港大学授予大学名誉院士和理学院杰出校友奖。2012年,他获授荣誉圣约翰爵士衔。2015年获授HKU SPACE 荣誉院士。

 

杨教授的着作论文约300篇,内容涵盖天体物理学、高等教育和终身学习等领域。